About the Dane County Fair

The Dane County Fair is an annual, family-friendly event held in Wisconsin’s capital city every July. Friends from near and far venture to the Alliant Energy Center in Madison for free concerts, entertainment, great food, animals and adventure. The Fair has a rich history dating back to 1851 when the first Dane County Fair was held in Madison. This history guides us as we strive to honor the past, while continuing a tradition and looking to the future. 


Our organization is centered around the community of Dane County, and it is our goal to host an event that is not only fun, but educational for everyone in attendance. Attendees are encouraged to walk through the New Holland Pavilions and the Exhibition Hall to view youth-developed projects that are an accumulation of their hard work throughout the year. With support from our generous Friend of the Fair sponsors, we are able to offer this public exhibition for Dane County’s youth, giving them the opportunity to be recognized in their endeavors. Dane County Fair sponsors also allow us to offer educational displays - such as the Kiddie Farm and Learning Lane -  to our attendees, along with unique daily activities.


Through community partners, the Fair is able to be a central location for different outreach groups, allowing for positive impacts across our community. The American Red Cross hosts a blood drive on Thursday, while Operation Homefront provides free school supplies to military families. The Fair proudly works with the public libraries, Madison School & Community Recreation and daycares. Our outreach continues throughout the year with the Dane County Fairest of the Fair program - an ambassador who serves as voice and a face for the Fair, as well as a role model to youth in Dane County.

Future Dates

Be sure to make the Dane County Fair a tradition in your family by attending this year,
July 15-18, 2021, and for many years to come.

2022 – July 21-24
2023 – July 20-23
2024 – July 18-21
2025 – July 17-20
2026 – July 16-19
2027 – July 15-18
2028 – July 20-23


We thank the following group of dedicated individuals who selflessly volunteer their time and talents on the Dane County Fair Board of Directors as they continue to lead the Fair into the future.

Darwin Lynde, President
Rachel Meek, Vice President
Dick Straub, Secretary

Mary Elvekrog, Treasurer
Romaine Ace, Director Emeritus
Jerome Bollig, Dane County Board of Supervisors

Lynn Egeland, Director At-Large
Rachael Gierhart, Director At-Large
Susan Mikkelson 4-H Leaders Association
Jamie Morris, Dane County Ag Teachers
Amy Pflugshaupt, Director At-Large
Beth Putney, Director At-Large

Ron Russell, 4-H Leaders Association
Sheryl Theobald, Director At-Large
Pam VanderSanden, 4-H Leaders Association
TBD, 4-H Leaders Association Youth